Experimental Narrative 263mc – Not I – Samuel Beckett

Not I – Samuel Beckett – 1973

In one of our lectures we watched Samuel Beckett’s Piece ‘Not I’. It was a very different and weird video, and focuses on one body part – the mouth. It feels quite surreal and weird and is uncomfortable watching something filmed so close to someones mouth, and is a bit creepy as we don’t usually see a mouth like that. The mouth is actually really disturbing when you focus on just that – emphasising to us how film allows you to focus on minute things and isolate them. It uses phrases, repetitions, and incomplete sentences, giving a sense of pain and a sense of disturbance from this. It is a powerful, simple, but disturbing piece. From studying about Samuel Beckett in Theatre Studies I was intrigued to watch. I really enjoyed watching it, even if I did find it a bit disturbing and uncomfortable, I found it interesting, experimental, and a different idea.

Leave a Reply

